SourceCode’s Summer Bookshelf 2021

With the summer in full swing, we also have some more down time (hopefully!). While the world is opening up more in light of recent COVID-19 restrictions lifting, there is also greater opportunity to read new books, listen to podcasts, and watch new shows, especially on those extra rainy days. 

In case you have some down time in the next few weeks or some time on the beach this summer, we have compiled a list of some book recommendations from the SourceCode team. 

Check out some of the books below:

 

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley 

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

“I’m currently halfway through The Hunting Party — not many people would consider this a beach read, but I’m enjoying the twists and turns. I look forward to reading more of her work after this!”  - Talia Firenze, Account Executive  

 

 

 

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan 

Jennifer Egan’s spellbinding interlocking narratives circle the lives of Bennie Salazar, an aging former punk rocker and record executive, and Sasha, the passionate, troubled young woman he employs. Although Bennie and Sasha never discover each other’s pasts, the reader does, in intimate detail, along with the secret lives of a host of other characters whose paths intersect with theirs, over many years, in locales as varied as New York, San Francisco, Naples, and Africa.

“If you are a music, travel, and book fanatic like me, A Visit from the Goon Squad marries all of those together in a perfect way. It's incredibly entertaining, and really gets to the core of human nature, connectedness, and how humans tend to self-destruct / the impact that has on those around us.” - Allie Novak, Director of Media Strategy 

 

 

The Chain by Adrian McKinty & Dear Child by Romy Hausmann  

The Chain: It’s something parents do every morning: Rachel Klein drops her daughter at the bus stop and heads into her day. But a cell phone call from an unknown number changes everything: it’s a woman on the line, informing her that she has Kylie bound and gagged in her back seat, and the only way Rachel will see her again is to follow her instructions exactly: pay a ransom and find another child to abduct. This is no ordinary kidnapping: the caller is a mother herself, whose son has been taken, and if Rachel doesn’t do as she’s told, the boy will die.

 

 

 

Dear Child: In a windowless shack in the woods, Lena's life and that of her two children follows the rules set by their captor, the father: Meals, bathroom visits, study time are strictly scheduled and meticulously observed. He protects his family from the dangers lurking in the outside world and makes sure that his children will always have a mother to look after them.

“My friend and I routinely read thrillers and these two were completely different from anything else we've read. We couldn't put either book down.” - Simran Kumar, Account Manager 

 

 

 

The Office of Historical Corrections by Danielle Evans  

Danielle Evans is widely acclaimed for her blisteringly smart voice and x-ray insights into complex human relationships. With The Office of Historical Corrections, Evans zooms in on particular moments and relationships in her characters' lives in a way that allows them to speak to larger issues of race, culture, and history. She introduces us to Black and multiracial characters who are experiencing the universal confusions of lust and love, and getting walloped by grief—all while exploring how history haunts us, personally and collectively. Ultimately, she provokes us to think about the truths of American history—about who gets to tell them, and the cost of setting the record straight.

“Each short story in The Office of Historical Corrections is so gripping that I wanted a full novel or movie of each. The stories left me thinking about human flaws, and racial and social issues, and  I found myself pacing myself so the experience lasted longer. Can someone else please read so we can discuss?” - Allison Bartella, Senior Account Manager 

 

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman

Looking at real estate isn't usually a life-or-death situation, but an apartment open house becomes just that when a failed bank robber bursts in and takes a group of strangers hostage. The captives include a recently retired couple who relentlessly hunt down fixer-uppers to avoid the painful truth that they can't fix up their own marriage. There's a wealthy banker who has been too busy making money to care about anyone else and a young couple who are about to have their first child but can't seem to agree on anything, from where they want to live to how they met in the first place. Add to the mix an eighty-seven-year-old woman who has lived long enough not to be afraid of someone waving a gun in her face, a flustered but still-ready-to-make-a-deal real estate agent, and a mystery man who has locked himself in the apartment's only bathroom, and you've got the worst group of hostages in the world.

“Such a beautiful story about life, love, grief and humanity. I loved the quirky style in which this was written. Chapters are told in third person and he often breaks the fourth wall to present opinions and interact with the reader.” - Kirstin Hallett, Director of Operations 

 

We Ride Upon Sticks by Quan Barry

The 1989 Danvers Falcons are on an unaccountable winning streak. Quan Barry weaves together the individual and collective journeys of this enchanted team as they storm their way to the state championship. Helmed by good-girl captain Abby Putnam (a descendant of the infamous Salem accuser Ann Putnam) and her co-captain Jen Fiorenza, whose bleached blond "Claw" sees and knows all, the DHS Falcons prove to be as wily and original as their North of Boston ancestors, flaunting society's stale notions of femininity in order to find their glorious true selves through the crucible of team sport. 

“A really fun and original story about a girls field hockey team in the 80s who decide to use witchcraft to up their odds of winning a tournament. Told with incredible 80s references, the writer's poetry background comes through with witty, snappy writing that made the entire story a joy to read!!” - Naomi Sabbah, Account Manager 

 

To check out SourceCode’s summer bookshelf from last year, see our blog post here. To learn more about opportunities at SourceCode or the work we are doing, please drop us a line at hello@sourcecodecomms.com, we’d love to hear from you.